1340 Pennsylvania Street, Denver, Colorado, United States
The Molly Brown House, also known as the House of Lions, is a remarkable example of several popular styles of the period, including Queen Anne and Richardsonian Romanesque, creating a unique and eclectic home. The residence was designed by architect William A. Lang and built in the 1880s for original owners, Isaac and Mary Large. They suffered financially from the crash resulting from the repeal of the Sherman Silver Purchase Act in 1893 and were forced to sell the house. James Joseph and Margaret Brown purchased the house in 1894 for $30,000 with the title transferring to Margaret in 1898. In 1912, Margaret would board the Titanic, survive the wreckage and become known as “The Unsinkable Molly Brown”.
According to the home’s website, “Over the next thirty years the Browns made changes to the house including the front porch, back porch, roof, and third floor.” In 1926, Margaret turned the home into a boarding house under the supervision of her housekeeper. The house was sold after Margaret’s death in 1932, for $6,000. The home then became a rooming house for men, a Jane Addams Hull House settlement, and rooms and apartments for rent. The house continued to deteriorate and by 1970 was set for demolition, but a group of concerned citizens formed Historic Denver, Inc., raising the funds for the house to be restored to its former glory. In restoration, the group used architectural research, paint-chip analysis, and original photographs taken in 1910 as guides to reconstructing it. Today the home is still owned by Historic Denver, Inc., and public tours are run daily for a fee. Learn more about the house on Molly Brown.